Dear Audrey

Dear Audrey,

We’re nearing your first birthday and mommy isn’t handling it too well. Your first year of life has flown by faster than I expected and you are growing up before my eyes. We waited nearly 3 years for you and what seemed like an eternity but your growing up at a speed faster than that. We prayed and prayed for you and when you were born, your daddy and I knew you were the reason God made us wait those long years. You’ve taught us so much about life and ourselves. You make us want to be better people for your sake. 

My first year of being a mom wasn’t always easy. The long, sleepless nights were frustrating. The no-nap strikes were hard. But those times were forgotten about quickly. When you just wanted to be held all day and I got annoyed because I got nothing done, I quickly remembered that those times wouldn’t last long and to just enjoy them now. Your very mischievous and it’s easy to blame your dad for that because every time I look at you I see him, but there is zero doubt you get your attitude and sass from me. Your big smile and laugh makes me heart happy. Watching you hit milestones has been bitter sweet because I know your only getting bigger every day.

There isn’t a day that goes by that you don’t make us laugh. Even when we’re trying to fuss you. Sometimes, we have to turn our heads and hide. You have the most infectious smile. And you love to mock us when we laugh at you. You have so much to say. And daddy says your always looking for something in the house but you can never find it. (You dig wayyy too much!) Ever since you learned to crawl and walk, you haven’t slowed down. Your constantly on the go. You love to show us your new tricks like standing up in the highchair when we turn our head for 2 seconds. Or climbing up your new slide and standing up. Your not afraid of anything and never meet a stranger. You can make anyone smile or wave at you and then you normally wave back. You love to go through my shoes and pile them up in the middle of my closet. If it’s organized and neat, you can’t wait to get your hands on it and mess it up.

Audrey, you are a dream come true; an answered prayer. Your daddy and I love you more than you’ll ever know.

Love,

Mom

Leave a comment